DIY: Painted mirror for above our fireplace

We decided on a subtle soft grey and white for our walls and we have dark chocolate hardwood floors. To add the cheerfulness we wanted in our family room, we settled on an accent color palette of teal, blue and yellow.

I have been looking for a mirror to go above our fireplace for a while. After finding our rug, I came across the perfect mirror at Home Goods for $29.99 but it was black. I wanted it to match our teal West Elm lacquer tray I got as a chipped floor model, so hit up Lowes. A tiny portion of a $4 can of Valspar spray paint later and we had the perfect mirror for all of $30.24.

Step 1: Cover the mirror portion with random magazine pages because that’s how I roll. (5 minutes)

{photo credit---Jessica Flannigan for livethefancylife.com}

Step 2: Start spraying until you get the look you want. (5 minutes)

{photo credit---Jessica Flannigan for livethefancylife.com}

Step 3: Hang it up! Start planning the rest of the mantel! (5 minutes of the hubby’s time!)

{photo credit---Jessica Flannigan for livethefancylife.com}

Step 4: Admire your work and keep examining to see how close the color is to the pillow and tray you got on clearance (pillow) and floor model with tiny scratch (West Elm). Score!

{photo---Jessica Flannigan for livethefancylife.com}

Step 5: Start dreaming up more spray paint projects. I have definitely decided to do something super fun with the foyer gallery wall. My original plan to use whatever frames I had has morphed into spray painting all of my original frames for a unique look! Stay tuned.

{photo---Jessica Flannigan for livethefancylife.com}

More to come on the family room.

13 Comments

Filed under house projects, {home design}

13 responses to “DIY: Painted mirror for above our fireplace

  1. I love that color & the shape of that mirror- it looks SO pretty!

  2. Nesikah

    We have those dark chocolate hardwood floors too, it’s great because you can do almost any color on the walls and the floor will agree with it. I have some picture frames and wall art I’ve been collecting from thrift stores. I’ve spray painted the frames as well. Great idea, so inexpensive and chic. Looks like your decorating is coming along fairly quickly! Good for you!

  3. Ann

    Looks great! Can’t wait to see more pictures of your new place 🙂

  4. omg- I bought a mirror from HomeGoods almost exactly like that and spray painted it white (it was black also). It was my first time spray painting something brand new (vs used from a thrift store) but it came out great. I love what you’ve done so far!

  5. Marni

    Jessica, when you get a moment…. plz come and decorate my living room for me!! Thanks is advance! : )

  6. Jen Sullivan

    That looks awesome!!!

Leave a comment