happy new year

Happy new year lovelies! We have been a busy little family these past few weeks. With planning a small party, cleaning up from said party, shopping, wrapping, packing, traveling, celebrating, finalizing new house stuff and dealing with a sick little man, time is flying. Bodhi had his first ear infection over Christmas. Between the travel to my hometown, several extra rough nights of no sleep (for all three of us) and the regular holiday hoopla, we are exhausted and thankful to have survived the holidays and to be in a nice warm Minnesota in January. No, really! It’s been an unseasonably warm and snow-less winter so far.

Sleeping Bodhi (after a nap-less afternoon)---Not relevant to the post, but so sweet. He didn't wake up when we took him out of the car seat.

My resolution for 2012 besides be a good mama and wife, live in the moment and blog more often than once every three weeks is simple. I just want to give myself permission to relax once in a while. This, my friends, is the reason I have been absent for weeks. I’ve been taking time to enjoy long naps with Bodhi, cook dinner with my husband and relax a bit. Although I tend to be someone who sets many goals (and often accomplishes them), I am taking it easy in 2012. We’ve had a lot of change (new baby, new job, new home) this past year and I’m still adjusting to our new normal.

With that said, I’m excited to share my plans for Bodhi’s first birthday, how I’ll celebrate the big 3-0 in March and the progress on our new home as it happens.

What’s new with you? What new year’s resolutions or goals do you have for 2012? Mamas—are you also giving yourself a break or are you hoping to pick it up a bit this year?

2 Comments

Filed under baby

2 responses to “happy new year

  1. What a cutie!

    Happy new Year to you.

    I’ve had a year of adjusting/transition time with Lucy so I’m going to try and step it up just a little this year. I had a few things I really wanted to get done in 2011 but it just wasn’t going to happen, so this is my year!

    I’m glad you’ll be posting more often 🙂

  2. Leah

    I always enjoy reading your blog and I’m happy to hear that you’re going to continue blogging into the new year. Good for you for recognizing and acting on the fact that you need to make relaxation a priority. You deserve it! I wish you all the best with Bodhi, your new job and the new home!

    I didn’t set a New Years resolution but I hope to also enjoy spending quality time with my family and making myself a priority. Michelle Obama said, “I have always tried to put my kids first and then put myself a really close second, as opposed to fifth or seventh. One thing I’ve learned from male role models is they don’t hesitate to invest in themselves, with the view that, ‘If I’m healthy and happy, I’m going to be a better support to my spouse and children.'” I think Michelle makes a great point!

    Happy New Year Jes!

Leave a Reply

