yummy easy party food recipe

Photo credit---Carly Morris---twitter.com/Carly_Morris

My colleague made risotto balls a few nights back and came to work raving about them—I know the name sounds bad, but she swears they are amazing! And my hubby loves risotto, so I can’t wait to try these. Other chefs I’ve found online call them arancini. Check out this article and recipe. Yum!

Photo credit---Amelia Pane Schaffner---ztastylife.com

I know it sounds crazy, but I’m already thinking of holiday parties and my family’s Christmas celebration—yes, I’ve started the menu for this year. Don’t judge! Last year I started planning in July and it turned out fabulous, so I feel the need to start early again. This year my aunt is hosting, but I’m doing the planning. Perfect for me! Check out a few photos here.

How fun would the risotto balls be served in a martini glass with the sauce drizzled over them for a party or dinner party (similar to above)? You could even do them the night before and just bake and/or broil them before serving. So yummy! Here is the recipe Carly followed. I’m definitely adding this to the Christmas Eve appetizer list!

Ingredients

  • 8 cups vegetable oil, for frying
  • 6 cups risotto, cooked, spread on a baking sheet, chilled
  • 24 (1/4 pound) mozzarella, cut into ½ cubes
  • 2 cups flour
  • 4 eggs, beaten
  • 2 cups bread crumbs, fine (Carly says to go for Panko! I agree.)

Preparation

  1. Dip fingers in water and shape 2 rounded tablespoons chilled risotto into a (1 1/2″) ball around a cube of mozzarella. Roll in palm of hands to make a smooth ball. Place ball on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper. Repeat until you have formed 32 balls. Cover with plastic wrap and store in refrigeration until ready to fry. (The recipe may be prepared a day in advance to this point.)
  2. In a large pot or Dutch Oven, heat oil to 360 degrees F-370 degrees F. (Use a deep fat or candy thermometer to gauge the temperature).
  3. Put flour, eggs and bread crumbs in separate bowls. For each risotto ball: roll in flour and shake off excess; dip in egg and let excess drip off; roll in bread crumbs; transfer to a baking sheet lined with waxed paper.
  4. Using a metal slotted spoon or skimmer, lower six balls into the oil. Fry until golden brown, approximately 3 to 3 1/2 minutes per batch of six. Transfer to a paper towel to drain. Repeat until all the balls are fried.
  5. The risotto balls are best if served immediately. They may be held in a 250 degree F oven while the remaining balls are fried.

The recipe is from FoodChannel.com. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under fancy host, fancy party tips

Leave a Reply

