i’m dreaming of a full night of sleep…

And I know it won’t happen anytime soon, but a girl can wish, right? After  spending the evening like this—two hours asleep followed by almost two hours awake, another hour asleep and the remainder of the night in restless sleep—I am truly dreaming of a solid chunk of time of pure sleeping bliss! Bodhi has other ideas. He woke up cheerful and adorable as usual. My crabby period lasted all of one minute as he smiled and cooed at me this morning.

Before having a baby and taking maternity leave, I envisioned hours of home improvement projects, nice long walks and cooking fancy dinners before my husband came home from work and greeting him with a smiling baby at the door.

The reality after having a baby is that there is hardly time to eat quick meals on my own and the baby, although happy all day, is a little fussy in the evenings. On a quest to make sure my husband and I are eating healthy, we are trying hard to make the majority of our meals out of “whole foods.” This means no (or significantly less) processed foods which is more difficult than I thought. Check out this easy way to get your fruits and veggies below.

I am currently surviving off of this:

It used to have coffee in it!

This:

Which becomes this (thanks to our new Ninja blender):

And of course, this:

This guy is a great coffee date!

Healthy easy smoothie recipe:
1/2 c fresh organic spinach
1/2 c frozen blueberries
1/2 c frozen cherries
1/2 c frozen pineapple
1/2 c frozen mango
1 banana
1/2 c shredded carrots
1/2 c no sugar added apple juice
1/2 c soy milk

Blend to your preferred consistency. You can add more juice or soy milk if you prefer. I also add a lot more spinach because you really can’t taste it. Makes at least three servings, but it’s not a perfect science. I can have this for breakfast, lunch or a snack and be completely satisfied. Delicious, nutritious and really easy. The frozen fruit makes it inexpensive and convenient any time.

Coffee recipe:
😉
Put K-cup in Keurig.
Hit start.
Enjoy!

If you have sleep tips for baby, please send them my way! Live the fancy life!

4 Comments

Filed under baby

4 responses to “i’m dreaming of a full night of sleep…

  1. What a perfect post, Jes! The optimist in me tells you: he will sleep, the fussy time will go away (&/or diminish!), home improvement projects seem possible & you will get to eat with both hands & have time for seconds.

    When all these things happened for us, we decided to have another baby 🙂

    My smoothie suggestion? David loooves fruit & if it is on sale I stock up and freeze 1/2 of what I buy in portioned freezer bags. Then I just dump the frozen fruit with a yogurt cup & a splash of apple juice (or whatever we have on hand) in the food processor! Now that David is getting good with a spoon, I add a bit more yogurt than if I was going to drink with a straw so he can have a thicker frozen treat!

  2. Katie B

    Hmmm, maybe Keurig will come up with a smoothie K-cup!

  3. thanks for the recipe!! I am not very good at eating healthy for a lot of reasons but the biggest is it seems too time consuming/hard! lol. a smoothie is a quick way to make you’re getting fruit without all the added sugar. As for tips for sleeping baby…there are SO many that come to mind! The thing is who knows which ones will work for your little man!! I’ll never forget what the lactation consultant told me when I had my daughter in ’09– “she’s your little mystery to figure out”–that scared the crap out of me because I just wanted the answers! LOL. Anyway, my tips are
    -swaddle tight
    -don’t have too much fun in the middle of the night! (i.e. try not to play with him, look at him too much, coo and talk to him, etc)- now I admit this one seems mean. And if you do these things, it probably makes getting up so much more bearable…but I do think it works to keep the atmosphere as ‘boring’ and ‘you-should-be-sleeping’ as possible! 😉
    -full feedings as much as possible, vs. sleepy sucking
    ok there are tons more but those are a few that come to mind. You may have already tried these things and/or not like any of them! that’s ok! The good news is at 6 months doctors say babies are capable of lasting through the night without eating (maybe not quite 12-13 hours yet but at least 6-8) and so maybe if he’s not sleeping by then you can start some sleep training techniques. Anyway, sorry to write a book!!! Good luck!!!

  4. Mali

    I thought the same thing you did about maternity leave! That I would have time to do things around the house and that I wouldn’t be cooped up in the house all of the time. Since giving birth to my son in June I’ve only left the house with my husband or my mother! Our kitchen reno hasn’t been touched since the day I gave birth to him and I have no idea when it will be finished. But I’m okay with this because I don’t have any other choice and he’s worth it =)
    I also wanted to let you know your nursery inspired my little guys and I also did the paper lanterns you did in his room. How were you able to hang the lanterns without denting them everywhere? From far away you can’t see them but up close I beat them up pretty bad hanging them up! LOL..whenever I have a minute I check on your blog so keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

