fancy feature—Nick!

Nick and friends at my wedding.

There’s nothing better than a friend who knows the city inside and out. Nick is that guy! He LOVES Minneapolis.  From his former perfect view of the downtown skyline from his Stone Arch Bridge Apartment to his favorite NE Minneapolis watering holes, Nick shares the love with anyone he comes across and lucky for me, I get to hear all about new places, eats and drinks in this amazing city.  I thought I’d share a little about Nick and his favorite places to be in the TC!

Who are you?
My name is Nick. I was born near Chicago but my family moved to Texas when I was 3, so I consider myself to be from Texas. After high school I attended college at St. John’s University and then law school at Hamline University School of Law.

After law school I worked for a judge in International Falls, MN, also known as the ice-box of the nation… A major change for someone who grew up in the Texas heat.

I love learning about history and politics and can’t get enough of traveling. Recently, I’ve traveled to Honduras and El Salvador and I’m looking forward to a trip to Russia next year.

Where do you live?
I recently moved to the North Loop neighborhood in Minneapolis. I’m a 12 minute walk from Target Field, the new home of the Minnesota Twins, and close to great bars and restaurants. If you haven’t spent much time in the North Loop, summer 2010 is the time!

Best date night in the Twin Cities?
Date night includes dinner and drinks at Sample Room in NE Minneapolis. The Sample Room offers a low-key and intimate setting perfect for a first or fifth date. Part II of the date would involve a visit to my favorite local theater, Theater in the Round. I’ve enjoyed every production I’ve seen there and ticket prices are reasonable.

Favorite Twin Cities eatery?
My favorite eatery is Cafe Alma. The atmosphere is great and the food is phenomenal. As stated on their website their food is “hand crafted with fresh, seasonal, organic and local ingredients.”

Editors note: My Husband and I have date night planned tonight at Restaurant Alma! His colleague gave us a gift card to Cafe Alma as a wedding gift. Free date night is great!

Favorite breakfast/brunch location?
Best breakfast: Good Day Café, located in Golden Valley
Best Sunday brunch: Jax Café, a true Northeast Minneapolis institution.

Favorite things to do during spring in Minneapolis or St. Paul?
One of my favorite spring events is fast approaching: WineFest No. 15-a Toast to Children’s Health. This event benefits the University of Minnesota Amplatz Children’s Hospital, where physician-researchers develop and deliver innovative treatments and cures for childhood diseases.

Also, spring means Pedal Pub adventures. This will be my second year working part time as a Pedal Pub Pilot.
Editor’s note: Pedal Pub is where it’s at!

Best Fancy dive bar cuisine?
Dusty’s in NE Minneapolis. Dusty’s is known and loved for its Dagos. A Dago is an Italian sausage patty with sweet red peppers, caramelized onions and mozzarella on a little white bun.

Are you single?
Yes.

Editor’s note: Ladies—to contact Nick, send an e-mail to livethefancylife@gmail.com and I’ll hook you up. 😉

What about that special lady in your life?
In 2008 I adopted a retired Greyhound racer named Tammy from Greyhound Pets of America, MN.

Editor’s note: LOVE TAMMY! She’s so cute.

To learn more about Nick, check out his blog. Enjoy your weekend and live the fancy life!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “fancy feature—Nick!

  1. Jenny (Sullivan) Wagner

    Jessica — what a fun post! I’ll keep my fingers crossed that Nick is our Pedal Pub driver on May 15th! My pals and I are doing our 2nd excursion on the Pedal Pub that day. Looking forwards to it – and maybe having Nick as our driver. We’ll make sure he has a good time!! 😉

    Be well,
    Jenny

  2. Marni

    Thanks Jess, for the eye candy! Oh, and the ideas!

Leave a Reply

