fancy feature—Eliesa, part II

Eliesa, owner and lead photographer of Photogen Inc, is totally a two part series kind of woman! She has way too much good stuff going on in her personal life, professional life and in that creative, passionate head of hers! If you didn’t read part I, I encourage you to click here. Otherwise read on for some inspiration and fun!

Eliesa-confident, passionate, daring! Photo courtesy of Laura Kay Photography.

What do you do when you’re not working?
When am I not working? Just kidding. I absolutely love spending time with my friends, shopping and getting my hands on any little adventure I can find! I love to travel, which I get to do a lot with my job, so I always try to do something crazy while I am on the road like skydive, cave explore or doing things like this picture.

Who are some of your favorite fancy people in Minneapolis and St. Paul?
Joynoelle – I have done a lot of work with Joy and she is a person who is truly remarkable at what she does! If you need a fabulous custom dress, this is the only place to go. 

Capture Studios – If you are getting married, this is the only option you have for a videographer. Matt is an incredible guy and his work is the bomb, you simply have to see for yourself. 

3jag Design – Betty is amazing at making her super cool jewelry! I love to support local and independent artists. 

Jim O’Neill – Jim is a self taught musician who brings the house down every time I hear him play. His songs have a bit of a jazzy influence on them and I totally dig everything this guy is about. 

Rivets and Roses – Brandon has been my right-hand-man and one of my best friends for years now and I am SO proud of what he is doing! This boy is about to blow UP in the photography world and I couldn’t be more excited for him! He has some tricks up his sleeve that haven’t even been tapped into yet and I can’t WAIT to see what he does!

Stun Creativ -Stun is a new design firm that is really thinking outside the box. This firm is going to push the limits in Minneapolis and I can’t wait to see how they grow. I just know that everything they do will be stunning! And they are super eco-friendly, which is also rad!

Sarah Montour and The Vagabond Bond – Sara is a fabulous friend of mine who is an amazing artist. Sara started this very cool and inspiring blog called the Vagabond Bond. It features various artists and musicians who are living the nomadic life on the road – I just love this fabulous artist collaboration!

The Photogen Inc. crew with their fancy leader Eliesa! Photo courtesy of The Traveling Photo Booth.

What inspires you to do what you do?
You know, sometimes being an artist is a funny thing. There is a fine line when doing what you love becomes all work and business, which can be very draining and uninspiring. I think part of my job and sanity is to keep things new, exciting, fresh and fun, so I don’t lose focus of my passion and why I’m a photographer.

There is a book called The Dip by Seth Godin that I always refer back to when I am needing a little kick in the ass. In fact, all of Seth Godin’s books are very inspiring and push the limits for me, as far as running a business and being an artist goes. More on the artistic side, I keep a vision book with tears from magazines that inspire me and I refer back to that often! Overall, I am inspired by working towards the unknown. I don’t know what is in store for me in the next year, five years or 10 years, but I look back at how much I have accomplished already and how much fun I’ve had up until this point and I know it’s just going to get better and better. I am inspired by “An Empire State of Mind” by Jay-Z!  “Dare to be remarkable” is my favorite quote and something I live by. Why not be the absolute best at what you do? 

What is the meaning of life to you?
Do what you LOVE.
Spend time with the people you LOVE.
Be remarkable.
Be inspired.
Inspire others.
And rock it out.

My "something borrowed" wedding shoe from Eliesa's perspective. What an eye! Photo courtesy of Photogen Inc.

Eliesa is oh-so-fancy! I hope you enjoyed learning a little bit about a local person who is truly living her dreams. I used to be so afraid of failure that I never wanted to pursue my dream of writing creatively. Honestly, Eliesa’s blog and her attitude that you create your own luck inspired me to just try blogging and try writing and not worry about the possibility of failure.

I encourage you to try to do a little bit of what you love even if it means you might fail. And, let me know if I can help you. I love Eliesa’s idea of artist collaboration. I’ve found that already with this blog, so many other bloggers, artists and photographers have forwarded on my work and invited me to take part in their projects. Let’s help each other out and all live our fanciest life! Send fancy story ideas or people to feature in fancy feature to livethefancylife@gmail.com. Live the fancy life and dare to be remarkable today!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “fancy feature—Eliesa, part II

  1. Pingback: one year ago «

  2. Pingback: Live the Fancy Life Feature: Part II !!! | | Eliesa Johnson PhotographyEliesa Johnson Photography

Leave a Reply

