the Baby Bjorn and celebrating the lasts


I recently read a blog post about a parent’s first lasts with their children and wanted to share my own forced first last. With kids, time goes so quickly and babies, in particular, change every day. So, you don’t always know when you experienced something for the last time. Such was the case for us not so long ago.

For months and months my son and I found our stride from maternity leave and beyond using our beloved Baby Bjorn. No other carrier worked quite as well for Bodhi. He loved the Bjorn even though we also owned a Moby, a sling and the Ergo. He took many naps in our apple green Bjorn and we used the Bjorn to comfort him during our difficult “witching hour” in the evenings. Walks with the Bjorn were our quiet time and the time my husband and I connected with each other and Bodhi. Bodhi grew and he grew and the Bjorn continued to be a comfort to all of us (but I have no more Bjorn photos). :)

And our tiny baby turned into a bigger baby who turned into a crawler who turned into a walker and so it was over! One day I realized that we hadn’t used the Bjorn in a few weeks and it hit me, that perhaps, we were done using it. Perhaps I didn’t realize and appreciate the last time we used the Baby Bjorn.

So, I did what any mom would do, right?! I grabbed the Bjorn, put Bodhi in the carseat and headed to Target for our final Target trip in the Bjorn. Bodhi was big at this point. He was almost 11 months old and was around 23 pounds and pretty tall as well. Bodhi still loved it. And I loved it, but we definitely got a few really odd looks from people. By the end, my shoulders felt like I had a bad sunburn and cramps at the same time, but still, I enjoyed every minute.

I put my hand on his belly on the outside of the Bjorn and held one of his now, not-so-tiny hands in mine as we perused the baby aisles and the grocery store side. Bodhi said “hi” to almost everyone, his current favorite word. I snuggled my face into his hair and enjoyed the feeling of contentment with my baby very very close to me and I knew at that moment, that there would have to be another baby someday. This couldn’t be my last time “wearing” a sweet little one.

Now, we’re on to new adventures with my precious little! He can walk at stores and rides on my sweet hubby’s shoulders giggling. I wonder if I’ll notice the lasts going forward. Such a week of reflection for us as we prepare to celebrate Bodhi’s first birthday. I’m curious. Do you celebrate the lasts? Do you document all the firsts?

1 Comment

Filed under baby

One response to “the Baby Bjorn and celebrating the lasts

  1. Jen Sullivan

    That was a great article and I love the pictures!! Happy Birthday to Bodhi, tomorrow~~~Love you all~~”Old Auntie”

Leave a Reply

